General Information

Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Concealed Weapon holders must check with the jurisdiction where they intend on travelling to.

The Sheriff and his staff are required to follow strict state guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for Concealed Handgun Permits (CHP). Due to the nature of the detailed due dilligence, processing times can take multiple weeks. During the application process, you will be asked to schedule an in-person visit (for New and Renewal CHP permits) to be fingerprinted (NEW) and have your application packet notarized (NEW and RENEW).  Please note that you will be required to pay online prior to coming in to finalize your application.


If you are RENEWING a Concealed Handgun Permit, you MUST apply PRIOR to your expiration date, but no more than 90 days prior to the expiration date.

If your permit has EXPIRED, but it has been LESS than 60 days since the permit expired, you will be required to apply as a NEW APPLICANT, be fingerprinted, and pay the $90.00 fee, but you will not be required to submit a new training certificate.

If more than 60 has passed since your permit EXPIRED, you must take retake the CONCEALED HANDGUN TRAINING COURSE, apply as a NEW APPLICANT, and submit the NEW TRAINING CERTIFICATE with the application.


  • A New Concealed Handgun Permit costs $90.00 (non-refundable), which includes the $10.00 fingerprinting fee.
  • A Renewal Concealed Handgun Permit costs $75.00 (non-refundable).
  • Click the "Let's get Started" button to apply for a permit.


You will be asked to schedule an in-person visit (for New and Renewal CHP permits) to be fingerprinted (NEW) and have your application packet notarized (NEW and RENEW).  These are held on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays, 9:00am to 3:30pm.  You can turn up anytime between those times.  You will be able to reschedule if needed.

Please Note: Filling out your application online and paying does not automatically submit your paperwork to the Sheriff’s Office! You must bring in your packet, which you filled out online, along with current permit or certificate from a North Carolina approved Firearms Safety Training course, at the appointment time you chose online. These forms must be signed by you in front of a notary public; therefore they are not complete simply by filling them out online.


Concealed Handgun Permit Information

Concealed Handgun Permit Requirements: must meet ALL requirements

Applicant Must:

  • be a citizen or a naturalized citizen;
  • be twenty-one (21) years of age;
  • have attained at least 30 days residency in Rockingham County;
  • not suffer from any mental or physical infirmity which would prevent safe handgun handling and operation
  • at the time of pickup, provide a valid driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the State of North Carolina.
  • successfully complete a firearms training and safety course that has been designed by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Standards Commission.

A criminal background check is performed on each applicant before granting the permit. The processing of the concealed carry weapons permit takes much longer than the handgun purchase permit. The Sheriff has forty-five (45) days from the time all application materials, to include receipt of the mental health and outside provider records, are received to either issue or deny a permit. N.C. General Statute 14-415-15(a).

Anyone interested in applying for a concealed carry weapon permit can apply and select a time within our available hours of availabilty online using this system. Prior to using this system, make sure you have the following information available.

  • NC Driver's license number
  • NC Firearms Training Certificate Number (located at the bottom right corner of the certificate)


A Concealed Weapon Permit requires a $90.00 non-refundable fee (which includes a $10.00 fingerprint fee) payable online using any major credit or debit card.  A Concealed Handgun Permit Renewal is a $75.00 non-refundable fee.


Please note that this website has been certifed to work using the following browsers: IE 8 or higher, Firefox, Safari or Chrome.

For More Information, Contact:

Physical Address:
Law Enforcement Center
130 Justice Center Drive
Reidsville, NC 27320

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 128
Wentworth, NC 27375

Phone: 336-634-3234


For Technical Support, Contact:

Permitium Software
Phone: (855) 642-2453

NC General Statute 14-315.1: Storage of firearms to protect minors

(a) Any person who resides in the same premises as a minor, owns or possesses a firearm, and stores or leaves the firearm (i) in a condition that the firearm can be discharged and (ii) in a manner that the person knew or should have known that an unsupervised minor would be able to gain access to the firearm, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor if a minor gains access to the firearm without the lawful permission of the minor's parents or a person having charge of the minor and the minor:

  1. Possesses it in violation of G.S. 14-269.2(b);
  2. Exhibits it in a public place in a careless, angry, or threatening manner;
  3. Causes personal injury or death with it not in self defense; or
  4. Uses it in the commission of a crime.

(b) Nothing in this section shall prohibit a person from carrying a firearm on his or her body, or placed in such close proximity that it can be used as easily and quickly as if carried on the body.

(c) This section shall not apply if the minor obtained the firearm as a result of an unlawful entry by any person.

(d) "Minor" as used in this section means a person under 18 years of age who is not emancipated. (1993, c. 558, s. 2; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 14, s. 11.)